Home News UI ASUU Elects Akinwole As Chair As Omole Bows Out

UI ASUU Elects Akinwole As Chair As Omole Bows Out


The Congress of the University of Ibadan has elected unopposed Professor Ayo Akinwole as the new Chairman of the Academic Staff Union of the Universities (ASUU) of the premier University.

Akinwole, a professor of Aquaculture Engineering and Water Resources took over from Professor Deji Omole who had served two terms.

Google search engine

Also elected unopposed are Drs Femi Afolabi (Vice Chairman), Chris Omoregie (Secretary), Seun Garba (Ass Secretary), Kazeem Olaniyan (Ass. Secretary), Sarah Akintola (Treasurer), Femi Akewula (Financial Secretary), Kehinde Soetan (Investment), Funke Adegoke (Welfare), Ajibade Tayo (Publicity), and Dapo Okareh (Internal Auditor).

The new executives were unveiled at the Biennial Congress of the Union held at ASUU Secretariat, Ajibode extby the Chairman electoral Committee Prof Akin Alada.

According to him, the elected satisfied all the provisions of ASUU constitution and were returned elected.

The Zonal Coordinator Dr Ade Adejumo who inaugurated the new exco tasked them to be ready to fight executive tyranny in Nigeria and ensure that the children of the masses are not sidelined.

The New Chairman, Professor Akinwole stated that Union will continue to stand with the masses and fight for publicly funded education.

Previous articleMakinde Orders TESCOM To Make Teachers’ Recruitment Forms Free For Applicants
Next articleJUST IN: Oyo To Employ 7,000 Teachers, 3,600 Non-teaching Staff


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here