Home Education Tech-U Chancellor, Afolabi, Endows Scholarship

Tech-U Chancellor, Afolabi, Endows Scholarship


Chief Tunde Afolabi, Chairman of AMNI International Petroleum Development Company Limited and the Chancellor of Nigeria’s premier technical university, First Technical University, Ibadan, has endowed a scholarship scheme to support exceptionally brilliant but indigent students unable to afford university tertiary education.

Awarded through the Josephus Foundation, the scholarship is strictly merit-based and it covers tuition, accommodation and other fees of beneficiaries who are newly admitted undergraduate and direct entry students of Tech-U, beginning from the 2018/2019 academic session till the end of their study.

Google search engine

Speaking during the presentation of letter of awards to beneficiaries, Vice Chancellor of the First Technical University, Professor Ayobami Salami appreciated the Chancellor for his thoughtfulness and generosity. 

He assured that the University is committed to its vision of world-class institution fully grounded in entrepreneurial practices, unique innovation, sustainability science and international best practices for radical societal transformation.

Said he, “the essence of Tech-U is to raise the bar in tertiary education. This University was established to address the skills gap in the country and not to mass-produce unskilled certificate wielding graduates, as it is in the country today. Here, our students are carefully baked to be outstanding entrepreneurs and innovators”.

In addition to the Josephus Scholarship and the LGAs-backed scholarships available for top-flights students at the STEM-BASED institution, Salami noted that the Tech-U management is commitment to providing more support schemes to enable students have a best-in-class, globally competitive education.

A distinguished professor of Space Application, Salami encouraged the students to justify their selection by demonstrating excellent moral and academic performance during their course of study.

Pioneer recipients of the scholarship were selected from diverse applicants through a keenly competitive aptitude test.  The Scholarship will be offered on an annual basis to newly admitted (UTME, JUPEB and direct entry) students and could be held, subject to satisfactory performance, for the duration of a beneficiary’s programme of study.

Previous articlePHOTO: Lanlehin Visits Oyo Assembly, Commends ADC Lawmakers
Next articleNBC To Sanction Yoruba Sports Presenters Who For ‘Unprofessional Styles’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here