Home Education Suspended UI Campus Journalist Shortlisted For Media Award

Suspended UI Campus Journalist Shortlisted For Media Award

Many months after he was suspended by the Prof. Idowu Olayinka led management team of the University of Ibadan, a former campus journalist, Kunle Adebajo, has been shortlisted, together with others for the 2019 edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Awards.
The award organisers, the Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA), which announced this on Tuesday, said 21 journalists, from six West African countries, have been shortlisted for the awards.
OYOINSIGHT.COM understands that Adebajo, who was in his final year as a law student, was suspended for two semesters, in July 2018 for an article he wrote in 2016, which constructively criticised the management of the school in handling infrastructure.

The Guardian had on 20th April, 2018 published an investigative report written by Adebajo (UI: The irony of fashionable rooftops and awful interiors), who now writes for International Centre for Investigative Reports, ICIR.

MFWA said 724 entries were received from journalists in over 15 countries.
The award ceremony is scheduled to hold on October 19 in Accra, Ghana.
Other shortlisted journalists from Nigeria are Odinaka Anudu, Business Day; Tobore Ovuorie, The Nation; Kunle Adebajo, International Centre for Investigative Reporting (ICIR); Tunde Ajaja, Punch; and Aneta Felix, TV360 Nigeria.
From Ghana, Edward Adeti of Starr FM, Beryl Richter, Joy News, and Timothy Ngnenbe of Graphic Online are on the list.
Others from Ghana are Seth Boateng, Joy News; Nabil Rufai, GHOne TV; Emmanuel Dogbevi, ICIJ/Cenozo; Justice Baidoo, Joy News; and Emmanuel Debrah, Joy News.
Sama Tounwendsida Hugues Richard of L’Observeteur Paala; Sawadogo Delwendé Elza Sandrine Clothilde, of L’Economiste Du Faso; Joseph Haro, Sidwaya; and Tagnan Rodrigue Arnaud, Mutations, are the journalists shortlisted from Burkina Faso.
Seriba Kone, Lepointsur.com of Cote D’Ivoire, Bettie K. Johnson-Mbayo, Frontpage Africa, of Liberia, and Mame Diomma Dramé, Ouestaf News of Senegal have also been shortlisted from the region.
“The winners for the various categories including the West African Journalist of the Year will be announced at the Awards event on October 19, 2019,” MFWA said in a statement published on its website.
“All finalists will receive a Certificate of Merit. Ultimate winners will receive plaques, certificates and cash prizes.
Previous articleCourt Remands 30-year Old Man In Prison Over Alleged N30m Internet Fraud
Next articleOyo To Re-award 65km Moniya-Iseyin Road, Provide Palliative Works


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here