Home Education Odigie-Oyegun Is New UI Chair As FG Reconstitutes Governing Councils Of 5...

Odigie-Oyegun Is New UI Chair As FG Reconstitutes Governing Councils Of 5 Varsities


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the dissolution and reconstitution of the Governing Council of the University of Ibadan.

Buhari also approved the reconstitution of the governing council of the Universities of Port Harcourt and Lagos, Obafemi Awolowo University and Maritime university.

Google search engine

A statement made available to newsmen in Abuja on Thursday signed by, Mr Sonny Echono, the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education said.

The statement listed members of the new Council of the university of Ibadan as Chief Odigie Oyegun, Chairman, Mr Masud Kazaure, Abba Yaro, Alhaji Abubakar Maikafi and Mr Emeka Nwagbo as members.

For the University of Port Harcourt, the governing council are Sen. Andrew Uchendu as Chairman while Mr Kolo Uzamat, Cdre. D. T. Hinga, Mohammed Makarfi and Ahmed Al-Mustapha as members.

At the university , Dr. Lanre Tejuosho was chosen as the chairman while Dr. Aminu Ahmed, Dr. Uro Gardner, Chief Chinedu Adindi and Mr Mustafa Salihu as members.

Also, the Obafemi Owolowo University, Ile-Ife has Chief Oscar Udoji as Chairman while Capt. Bala Jibrin, Hon. Eugene Odo, Dr. Lateef Babata and Alhaji Saidu Bako as members.

The Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko has Dr. Elias Courson as Chairman and Hon. Nelson Alapa, Hon. Victor Giadono, Alhaji Bello Dukku and Mr Godwin Ananghe were members.

The permanent secretary said all the five Governing Councils would be inaugurated in Abuja by the Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu on April 19.

He, therefore, directed that all Vice Chancellors of the affected Universities to attend the inauguration ceremony.

Previous articleOsun PDP Welcomes Decision To Hold PDP Southwest Congress In Osogbo
Next articleEFCC Chair Visits Ibadan, Says Nigerians Are Looking Up To Agency 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here