Home News Igboora: APC Reps Candidate Absent As Ibarapa Aspirants Sign Peace Accord

Igboora: APC Reps Candidate Absent As Ibarapa Aspirants Sign Peace Accord


Candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC,  for Ibarapa Central / North federal constituency in Saturday’s election, Hon. Demola Ojo, was absent when his counterparts from other political parties signed a peace accord.

It was however learnt that he sent representative.

Google search engine

This, sources told OYO INSIGHT, became necessary following the violent clash that claimed lives and got many injured when the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, took its campaign to Igboora, headquarters of Ibarapa Central local government.

Ijaya, as the former chairman of the Oyo State chapter of the Association of Local Government of Nigeria, ALGON, is fondly called had been accused by his other colleagues of arming thugs.

Meeting under the chairmanship of the Onidere of Idere, Oba Kingsley Onikola in the presence of all security agents under the mouthpiece of the DPO, Ibarapa Central and INEC officials on Monday, 11th February, 2019, they all signed with all political candidates in the constituency. 

Sources who spoke with this newspaper, said that “As tradition entails, they all equally swore to oath one after the other locally with pledge to maintain peace, abstain from any sort of violence, intimidation and manipulation before, on the day and after the elections.

“Chairman, Ibarapa Central local government stood in for Hon. Ademola Ojo who pledged to abide by every decision taken at the meeting.

“Candidates present at the peace meeting include Eng. Tunde Bello of the SDP, Hon. Muraina. Saubana of the PDP, Hon. Yemi Akinlabi of the ADP, Dr. Bayo Adepoju of ZLP, Hon. Huzein Akinlabi of ADC and Alhaji Ibrahim Adesope of NRM. All political party leaders were also in attendance.

“Traditional rulers in attendance include HRH, Oba Kingsley Onikola, Onidere of Idere, Ashingangan of Igangan, Asawo of Ayete, Oluaso of Iberekodo, Babaaso of Igbole, Onisaganun of Saganun, Onilado of Igboora, Jagun of Tapa and Jagun of Pako.

“Community leaders include Chief M.F Adeegbe, Chief S.L Lasunsi, Olori A.A Akinyemi, Prince A.O Ajibade and Deacon Oyediran.

“Normalcy has however returned fully as the peaceful coexistence of Ibarapas that had been known for peace right from inception is not negotiable; history even revealed that during the Agbekoya war that threatened the entire Yorubas, Ibarapas were known as one peaceful family.

Previous articleINVESTIGATION: In Oyo, Violence Between Herders, Farmers Injured Many, Destroyed Homes, Displaced Scores
Next articleOyo 2019: APC, ADC Suspend Ogbomoso, Mapo Rallies


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here