Home News Saubana Moves First Motion As 9th House Of Reps Hold Inaugural Plenary...

Saubana Moves First Motion As 9th House Of Reps Hold Inaugural Plenary Session


A third term member, Dr Muraina Ajibola became the first lawmaker from Oyo and the South West to move a motion as the 9th of the House of Representatives sat for the first time.
The Assembly, which had Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila as speaker, was inaugurated on Tuesday.
Saubana, a member of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and member representing Ibarapa North/ Central federal constituency, moved a motion on the need to address the spate of killing and kidnapping across country.
Members unanimously voted in favour of the motions and Gbajabiamila ruled that the resolutions be forwarded to relevant agencies for implementation.
Earlier, Gbajabiamila swore in Rep. Musa Sarki-Adar (APC-Sokoto) who was absent at the Tuesday’s inauguration.
The oath of office was administered by the Clerk of the house, Mr Patrick Giwa at plenary in Abuja.
The swearing-in was delayed for about eight minutes as the microphone attached to the seat of the speaker malfunctioned.
Gbajabiamila ordered the clerk to delegate some members of staff to check the entire sound system daily before the commencement of plenary.
He also mandated the clerk to notify the President, the Senate and the Secretary to the Federal Government of Nigeria that the house had elected Femi Gbajabiamila and Idris Wase as presiding officers and could now receive communications.
The House at its maiden plenary entertained two motion of Urgent Public Importance bothering on security and environmental hazards.
Rep member Benjamin Kalu (APC-Abia) moved a motion on the need to urgently address erosion and floods ravaging Nkpa and surrounding communities in Bande Federal Constituency of Abia State.

Leave a Reply