Home News PHOTOS: Auxilliary, Ejiogbe, 4 Other NURTW Factions Unite As Makinde, Baruwa Intervene

PHOTOS: Auxilliary, Ejiogbe, 4 Other NURTW Factions Unite As Makinde, Baruwa Intervene


Following the dissolution of the administrative council of the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), Oyo State council and the subsequent ban in the activities of the union by the state government, a three-man committee, on Wednesday, united all the factional leaders.

Nigerian Tribunereported that the three-man committee, headed by the national deputy general-secretary of the union, Comrade Kayode Agbeyangi; secretary, Alhaji Musa Sulaiman and the chairman, South-West zone, Mr Lekan Salami, brought members of the factions together, where they pledged to be one.

Google search engine

Commissioner for Works and Transport, Professor Raphael Afonja, represented Governor Seyi Makinde, at the parley which held on Friday, September 27, at the conference room of the ministry, while various factions of the union attended.

Six factional groups, Alhaji Abideen Olajide (Ejiogbe), Alhaji Lamidi Mukaila (Auxilary), Mr Lateef Opeyemi, Alhaji Abass Amolese, Mr A. Oloruntobi and Alhaji Waheed Adeoyo factions participated in the meeting.

The groups were educated on the need for discipline among members, while also being obedient to the union’s constitution and law of the land.

Agbeyangi then led the group leaders in signing an undertaken with Oyo State government and the national body of the union that they would be law-abiding while carrying out their activities.

After the four-day meeting, the factional leaders expressed gratitude to the national president of the union, Professor Tajudeen Ibikunle Baruwa, for taking time to negotiate on their behalf with the state government.They also thanked the governor for his magnanimous approach in dealing with the NURTW issue, and not imposing any candidate on the union, saying this had made it easy for members to reconcile.

Also present at the meeting were security operatives from Nigeria Police Force, Nigerian Army, Department of State Services (DSS), State Investigation Bureau, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, among others.

Previous article25 NYSC Members Abscond, 33 Get Service Extension In Oyo
Next articleEx-AD Nat’l Chair, Mojisoluwa Akinfenwa, Dies In Ibadan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here