More PDP Groups, Members Join APC In Oyo, Vow To Unseat Makinde


    As political parties, candidates and other stakeholders warm up for the final showdown this Saturday in relation to the 2023 general elections, the camp of the All Progressives Congress in Oyo state got another boost on Wednesday as more groups and members within the ruling party defected to the opposition APC even they expressed their collective resolve to unseat Governor Seyi Makinde.

    Earlier in the week, the media space was awash with the reports of five different groups within Oyo PDP which leaders and members numbering over 7,000 had joined the APC following the broom party’s brilliant performance in the state at the presidential and national assembly elections held on February 25.

    Google search engine

    A similar development was recorded on Wednesday when two more PDP Groups named Integrity Youth Vanguard led by Fola Afolabi and Idera De Disciples of Honourable Tunde Adewumi left their former party for the APC. The two groups with members across the 33 Local Government Councils in the state came with over 5,000 people and they all declared for the broom party at an event which took place at the Oke-Ado State Secretariat of the APC in Ibadan.

    Speaking on behalf of the Integrity Youth Vanguard, Mr. Fola Afolabi decried the poor handling of the affairs of the Oyo PDP and governance of the state by Gov. Makinde who he described as a “deceitful personality whose innocent look got many people into political slavery in 2019. But this time, only a few individuals who cannot read between lines as well as those who are ready to mortgage their future would support him (Makinde) for another term in office.”

    The Idera De Disciples, in their own address delivered by Hon. Adewumi (a.k.a Solution) indicated their readiness to work assiduously for the victory of Sen. Teslim Folarin and all the candidates of the APC in this Saturday election because “only this would assuage our individual feelings as victims of Gov. Makinde’s high-handedness and sense of ingratitude.

    “I was the candidate of the Accord for Ibadan North Constituency 2 in the 2019 election and just like hundreds of party candidates from all those involved in the coalition arrangement, I sacrificed my ambition and up till today, there is nothing to show for the sacrifices we made. To make the matter worse, the present administration has strangulated the local government system in the state and thus made life unbearable for the masses.” Adewumi stated.

    Oyo APC chieftains who received the defectors include; Alhaji Tajudeen Olanite, Comrade John Aremu Oyetunji, Alh. Olalekan Busari, Mrs Taiwo Moteleola, Comrade Sayo Fatoki and Olawale Sadare while other leaders of the defecting PDP groups are; Ayobami Ajayi, Sunday Adepoju, Sheriff Ojetunde, Kehinde Olatunde, Saheed Adewole, Oluwamayowa Adekunle and Oluseye Ogundeji.

    Previous articlePHOTO: Group Alleges Makinde’s Agents Of Sharing Contaminated Rice, Asks NAFDAC To Wade In
    Next articleWhy Makinde Should Be Re-elected — Oyo Kajola Group


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here