Home News Makinde, Other SW Govs Agree On Border Closure Over COVID-19

Makinde, Other S\W Govs Agree On Border Closure Over COVID-19


The Executive Governor of Oyo State, Engineer Seyi Makinde and the governors of the five other South West states of Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, and Osun have agreed to close all entry points to the region with a view to curbing spread of COVID-19.

The governors also agreed to make the wearing of face masks compulsory in all the states as a way of tackling the pandemic

Google search engine

The decision of Makinde and the other governors was contained in a statement made available to the press signed by the Governor of Ondo State, who is also the Chairman of the South West Governors’ Forum, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, at the end of the virtual meeting of the forum.

The governors also agreed to dissolve the Board of Directors of ODUA Investment Limited with immediate effect.

The statement read, “That the entry points of our six States be closed forthwith to contain the spread of COVID-19 pandemic.

“That the state Governors agreed that people involved in essential services or dealing in medicine, water and consumable items in particular traders and market men/women should endeavour to wear nose masks while outside plying their trade to minimize the spread of the deadly virus

The Governors further agreed that wearing of nose masks will be made compulsory for everybody coming out of their homes effective from Friday 24th April, 2020 in their respective States.”

Previous articleCOVID-19: One From Yemetu, Another From Ikolaba — Makinde Confirms 2 New Cases
Next articleCOVID-19: Makinde Converts Saki Hospital To Isolation Centre, Set To Commence Work On Monday


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here