Home News Folarin, Saubana Lay Claim To Ibadan Inland Dry Port Project

Folarin, Saubana Lay Claim To Ibadan Inland Dry Port Project


Another controversy is brewing on the political scene in Oyo State as Senator Teslim Folarin, representing Oyo Central senatorial district and Hon. Ajibola Muraina, representing Ibarapa Central/Ibarapa North Federal Constituency at the red and green chambers of the National Assembly respectively have begin to trade words over who moved the motion that led to the recent approval of the Ibadan Dry Port project.

OYOINSIGHT.COM had earlier that the Federal Government had approved a sum of
N43 billion for the construction of the Ibadan dry port project by a Chinese Company.

Google search engine

In reaction to the approval, Senator Teslim Folarin, a third-term member of the senate, applauded the decision of the President to commence the project ’13 years after his motion’.

However, Hon. Ajibola Muraina, in a statement on Sunday morning, debunked the claim by Senator Folarin and stated that the approval for the project was a result of his efforts as a federal lawmaker.

“This approval is as a result of a motion I sponsored and moved at the plenary of the House of Representatives on 26th September, 2019 on the need to urgently construct Ibadan Dry Port and other Dry Ports in Nigeria.

“My motion titled: the need for the completion of the ibadan inland dry port in erunmu, egbeda local government area of oyo state and other inland dry ports in the country was duly captured in the records of the House. The votes and proceedings of the House is in the permanent records of the House. I also religiously followed up with the Executive after the passing of the motion in the House. The project is starting with Ibadan and they will soon approve the others in other parts of Nigeria as granted in my motion,    ” the statement by Hon. Muraina said.

In reaction to the statement by Hon. Ajibola Muraina, the Special Adviser on Media to Senator Folarin, YSO Olaniyi in a press statement, stated that the ”mischievous newly recruited members of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo State who are twisting facts and claiming credits for the combined spirited efforts of some notable stakeholders who were instrumental to the realization of the long-awaited Erumun Dry Port …ought to have been properly tutored that same motion on a particular matter of national importance can be proposed and moved by different lawmakers as many times as possible so long the matter is yet to be addressed by the appropriate authorities.”

According to him, “Concerned over the slow pace of action by the previous administration (of President Olusegun Obasanjo), Senator Teslim Folarin (as Senate Leader), in 2007, moved a motion urging the President Yaradua-led administration to sign all papers and ensured the realization of the projects at the earliest time possible.”

He stated that the motion by Senator Folarin was the first-ever motion on Nigerian dry ports.

Olaniyi, who noted that after the first motion by Senator Folarin, there were similar motions by other lawmakers including Hon. Dapo Lam Adesina on the 2nd of March 2016 and Hon. Ajibola Muraina on the 26th of September 2019, maintained that Folarin still remains the lawmaker who moved the motion that led to the approval of the project.

“Its a sacred fact that Senator Teslim Kolawole Folarin (as the Senate Leader) started the struggle in 2007. However, he could not pursue the matter to a logical conclusion because he was denied a third-term PDP senatorial ticket in 2011. Government is continuum, hence other notable stakeholders inherited the struggle; Chief among the stakeholders were late Governor Abiola Ajimobi, Hon. Dapo-Lam Adesina ans Minister Rotimi Amaechi,” he added.

Previous articleOdegbami Urges Makinde To Immortalize Muda Lawal
Next articleThe Bursary, Scholarship: Plight Of Oyo Students | Ajani ‘Kayode Jamiu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here