Home News EXCLUSIVE: PDP Replaces Bayo Lawal With Kola Balogun As Oyo South Senatorial...

EXCLUSIVE: PDP Replaces Bayo Lawal With Kola Balogun As Oyo South Senatorial Candidate


OYO INSIGHT can exclusively report that the leadership of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has substituted the names of Chief Bayo Lawal with that of Dr Kola Balogun as its candidate for Oyo South senatorial district.

Balogun, who is the younger brother of the Otun Olubadan of Ibadan and a former Oyo Central senator, High Chief Lekan Balogun, is one of the 12 aggrieved governorship aspirants of the African Democratic Congress, ADC. Balogun and 11 others have not been happy with the announcement of Sen. Olufemi Lanlehin as ADC gubernatorial candidate. They are currently in court to challenge it.

Google search engine

This newspaper had reported how the party’s governorship candidate, Engr. Seyi Makinde lured another ADC governorship aspirant, Engr Sharafadeen Alli, to take the ticket. Alli, a former secretary to the state government and chief of staff to former governor Rashidi Ladoja, was said to have rejected the offer.

Former sports minister, Prof. Taoheed Adedoja was also said to have signified interest in the ticket at the ‘dying minutes.’

Lawal had initially defeated former deputy governor, Barr Hazeem Gbokarumi, to clinch the ticket.

Recall that OYO INSIGHT exclusively reported how Makinde deliberately ensured that Lawal, who is his campaign director general, clinch the ticket. 

“Makinde is calculative this time around. He was not okay with the aspirants from Oyo South. And that was why he drafted his campaign DG into the race. He knew that some popular gubernatorial aspirants will fall out with their parties. Initially, he had talks with Sen. Adesoji Akanbi before the latter secured the ticket of the African Democratic Congress,ADC. He also held talks Alli,” a reliable source told OYO INSIGHT.

Balogun was in Abuja at the weekend to effect the substitution. He will slug it out with Governor Abiola Ajimobi of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, Sen. Adesoji Akanbi of ADC, Dr Fola Akinosun of the Action Democratic Party, ADP and others.

Previous articleEXCLUSIVE: Makinde To Announce Olaniyan As Running Mate
Next articleAyefele Apologised, Admitted He Contravened Building Code — Oyo Lists Reasons For ‘Remodelling’ Music House


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here