Home News EXCLUSIVE: Makinde To Appoint 14 Commissioners (SEE SHARING FORMULA)

EXCLUSIVE: Makinde To Appoint 14 Commissioners (SEE SHARING FORMULA)

Governor Seyi Makinde is going to work with 14 commissioners.
OYO INSIGHT learnt that the names are expected to be submitted by Makinde to the Oyo State House of Assembly before Friday this week.
This newspaper understands that Makinde had actually wanted 13 commissioners before it was increased to 14.
OYO INSIGHT learnt that there was a sharing formula among coalescing parties before the governorship election.
At a meeting of the coalition parties’ representatives which took place inside Makinde’s Kolapo Ishola house, it was agreed that the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, would nominate 50 per cent of all appointees while the African Democratic Congress, ADC; Zenith Labour Party, ZLP; Social Democratic Party, SDP and others will form the remaining 50 per cent.
Sources told OYO INSIGHT that while Makinde accepted that PDP will nominate 7 of the 13 commissioners, ADC got 3, ZLP, SDP, and Conference of Nigeria Political Parties, CNPP got one each. “It was when Barr Sharafadeen Alli stood up to make case for ZLP that the governor increased it to 14, leaving ZLP with 2 nominees,” a source who was at the meeting explained.
While the coalescing political parties have submitted names of their nominees, it remains PDP nominees that are being sorted.
In the new arrangement, PDP will have 6 and 7 special advisers and commissioners respectively. ADC will have 2 and 3 special advisers and commissioners while ZLP will have 2 and 2 special advisers and commissioners respectively. SDP and CNPP will have a commissioner and special adviser each.
Though arrangement has not been made on how to share the chairmanship position, Makinde was quoted as saying that the parties should start with the special adviser and commissionership issue first to know how far they can go.
OYO INSIGHT gathered that ZLP has nominated and submitted the names of the duo of its deputy governorship candidate, Hon. Kola Olabiyi who is a former member of the House of Representatives and Mr Waheed Akanbi who was finance commissioner under former governor Rashidi Ladoja. Hon. Bimbo Adepoju and a nominee from Alhaji Wasiu Ademola Alli, a chieftain of the party, would be made special advisers. ADC has submitted the names of its nominee. “ADC has 5 groups and they have been given 5 cabinet positions. Each group is expected to take one each. Unity Forum, Labour Party, Accord, CNPP and Coalition Movement of Nigeria have submitted names of their nominees. What is delaying it is the protest that has greeted the nomination of CMN nominee, who is a former council chairman,” another source confided in our reporter.
Previous articleOyo Assembly Approves 10 More Special Advisers For Makinde
Next articleNANS ‘Drags’ UI Mgt To EFCC Over Alleged Misappropriation Of Students Union Fund, Others


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here