Home News 3SC, Crown FC To Remain In Relegation As NNL Clubs Vote Against...

3SC, Crown FC To Remain In Relegation As NNL Clubs Vote Against Promotion


The dream of the top two football clubs in Oyo State to participate at the Elite level of professional football in Nigeria will have to wait for, at least, another football season.

This became certain on Tuesday after 13 clubs in the Nigerian National League voted against the plans of some clubs to push for the promotion of the top team in each of the four groups in NNL to NPFL.

Google search engine

This move would have made the two clubs from Oyo State, Shooting Stars club of Ibadan, and Crown FC of Ogbomosho, qualify for the next NPFL season because they currently top their respective groups.

In the meeting which was held virtually to ratify the promotion agenda of some clubs to the elite division of the league, 13 clubs voted against the promotion agenda and maintained the stand that no team should either be promoted or relegated, while 12 teams voted in favour of promotion of teams.

Four Clubs clubs had their votes cancelled for voting late against the stipulated time though sources at the meeting said they voted in favour of no promotion, no Relegation.

Teams that voted against the promotion of teams to the elite division are ABS of Ilorin, Delta United of Asaba (Kwara United), Zamfara United of Gusau, Giant Brillers of Enugu, Gombe United of Gombe, Sokoto United of Sokoto, J.Atete of Warri, Rovers of Calabar, Elkanemi Warriors of Maiduguri, Malumfasi of Malumfasi, DMD of Maiduguri, Kebbi United of Kebbi, and Dynamites FC of Warri.

Those that voted for the promotion of teams using the PPG are 3SC of Ibadan, Insurance of Benin, Crown FC of Ogbomosho, Nilayo FC of Abeokuta, KADA FC of Kaduna, Remo Stars of Shagamu, Ekiti United of Ekiti, Niger Tornadoes of Minna, Joy Cometh of Warri, Vandrezzer of Uyo,
EFCC of Abuja, and Gateway FC of Abeokuta.

Four teams, Abia Comets of Umuahia and Oyah FC of Minna, Yobe
Desert stars of Damaturu and one other club though voted against promotion of teams, had their votes cancelled for voting late, while Kogi United abstained from voting.

With the outcome of the the voting process, it is very evident that majority of the clubs are against any move to agitate for promotion of teams to the NPFL with teams playing 5, 4 and 3 matches in the 2019/2020 League season.

Previous articleAlhaji Ganiyu Elékuru – Baba Ẹlẹ́ran | Odolaye Aremu
Next articleSeyi Adisa Weeps As Oyo Assembly Holds Special Sitting For Ajimobi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here