Home News Oyo 2019: Only 5 Guber Candidates Are Serious — Ibadan Mogajis

Oyo 2019: Only 5 Guber Candidates Are Serious — Ibadan Mogajis


Ibadan Mogajis have backed  the Central Council of Ibadan Indigenes’ invitation of the candidates for the Oyo State governorship election next year to appear before it  and unveil their  agenda  for the development of Ibadan.

However, the  Mogajis said apart from unveiling their agenda for  Ibadan,  Governor Abiola Ajimobi’s successor  must show that he loves  the  people of the state.

The CCII President, Chief Yemi Soladoye,  had during the press conference organised by the body ahead of their event to celebrate Ajimobi’s 69th birthday, said, “The CCII did not organise any ceremony for him (Ajimobi) before becoming governor in 2011 and before he had a second term in 2015. We are only showing appreciation and setting the pace for the next governor in Oyo State that he must have Ibadan agenda and the agenda must be fulfilled.”

The Mogajis under the banner of Authentic Mogajis in Ibadanland appealed to the 32 governorship candidates to support any of the leading candidates to save voters the agony of going through a long list on election day.

The group said  it would ask the contestants to tell the people of the state what they had  in stock for them and to ensure a violent-free election.

The Mogajis are  Chiefs Olawale Oladaja, Adekunle Adanla,  Fatai Olanrewaju, Abass Oloko, Ademola Olasomi,  Musibau Raji,  Rasaki Adeyemo and Mogaji Molade.

The group was of the opinion that the long list of  the governorship  candidates was capable of confusing voters, adding that  there was the  need to critically examine the trend in order to arrive at the best for the state.

“Only the best is good for our state post-Governor Abiola Ajimobi era in 2019,” the group said in a statement.

The Mogajis in the  statement signed by their spokesman Mogaji Oladoja said  they believed that  five  candidates – Seyi Makinde  (Peoples Democratic Party), Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala (Action Democratic Party), Chief Sharafadeen Alli  (Zenith Labour Party), Senator Olufemi Lanlehin (African Democratic Congress) and Chief Bayo Adelabu (All Progressives Congress) are enjoying the support of voters.

The Authentic Mogajis appealed to the candidates  to  avoid hate speech during their campaigns.

Leave a Reply