Home News Oyo 2019: Ogunwuyi Wins PDP Reps Ticket

Oyo 2019: Ogunwuyi Wins PDP Reps Ticket

Segun Ogunwuyi

The current serving lawmaker representing Ogbomoso North/South/Oriire Federal Constituency, Hon. Segun Ogunwuyi has won the Peoples Democratic Party ticket for Ogbomoso North/South/Oriire House of Representatives in the primary election conducted yesterday by Mr. Seun Ojo-led electoral panel.

The primary election which was determined by 271 delegates gave the victory to Ogunwuyi with 170 votes distantly trailed by Engr. Abu Salami popularly and politically known as Arije with 49 votes, John Abisoye Oke was able to pull 25 votes while Adekunle Bankole got 20 votes in which there were 7 void votes 

Ogunwuyi won to seek a return to the Green chamber.

Announcing the result in the late hours of Wednesday, the returning officer said that the exercise, which started around 7:30pm, was delayed due the late arrival of voting materials from the national headquarters of the party in Abuja.

Addressing journalists after being declared the winner, the lawmaker lauded the electoral committee for what he called the free, fair and credible conduct of the exercise, despite the earlier delay.

Ogunwuyi said, “I look forward to going back to the Green Chamber to further contribute to the growth and development of the nation, most especially my constituency ”.

“The Peoples Democratic Party made another remarkable history today (yesterday) with my emergence as the candidate of our great party. The people of Ogbomoso North/South/Oriire Local Governments should expect greater performance from me at the House of Representatives. As to whom much is given, much is expected which will even exceed my unprecedented achievements.

“I imploy my co-contestants to display the spirit of sportsmanship and support this just course to move our constituency to greater heights”.

Leave a Reply