Home News Olatubosun, Ayoola, Farinto, Others May Make Makinde’s Cabinet

Olatubosun, Ayoola, Farinto, Others May Make Makinde’s Cabinet

If there is no change of plan, Governor Seyi Makinde will this week send a list of commissioner-nominees to the state House of Assembly for screening.
Two weeks ago, Makinde, at a media chat to mark his one month in office, promised to send the list to the lawmakers inside 14 days.
Nigerian Tribune gathered that the three main parties, which formed a coalition that saw to Makinde’s emergence as governor, have all submitted the names of allotted commissioner and special adviser’s slots to the governor.
The governorship candidates of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Senator Olufemi Lanlehin, Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Chief Sharafadeen Alli and Social Democratic Party (SDP), Chief Bolaji Ayorinde, all withdrew for Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
It was gathered that ADC submitted the names of three commissioners and two special advisers, while ZLP submitted the names of two commissioners and two special advisers, just as SDP submitted the name of one commissioner.
It was scooped that the leader of the coalition and former governor of the state, Senator Rashidi Ladoja, apart from the two given to ZLP, might get a commissionership slot in acknowledgemdnt of him being a political icon in the state.
Makinde’s PDP is to add its nominees to bring it to a list of 14 commissioners and about 22 special advisers.
ADC, it was authoritatively gathered, submitted the names of a former council chairman, Wasiu Olatubosun, a former chairman of Accord and Director General of Lanlehin Campaign Organisation, Alhaji Bashir Lawal as commissioners, while either of the immediate past Minority leader in the Assembly, Honourable Akeem Ige and ADC’s acting publicity secretary, Bimpe Adelowo will get the third slot.
ZLP, it was gathered, submitted the names of a former finance commissioner, Waheed Akanbi, and a former House of Representatives member and party’s deputy governorship candidate, Honourable Kola Olabiyi, as commissioners.
A former speaker, Kehinde Ayoola from Oyo zone and a former House of Representatives from Ogbomosho, Honourable Temi Adibi and a former state lawmaker, Honourable Adeniyi Farinto are likely to be among the nominees from the PDP.
It was learnt that the delay in sending the list to the lawmakers for screening may not be unconnected with the clashes in the local government councils and constituencies of origin of nominees from the coalition partners and the PDP leaders.
While Governor Makinde, it was scooped, wants the 14 slots spread across the 14 federal constituencies in the state in line with his inclusiveness approach to governance, the idea appears looking complex to handle, as coalition partners and some PDP leaders have picked nominees from the same federal constituencies and in some cases, the same council.
Previous articlePHOTOS: Soji Akanbi In Happy Mood As Last Child Bags Law Degree From University Of Manchester
Next articleOne Killed, Policemen Injured As Mob Sets Alakia-Adelubi Police Station Ablaze


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here