Home Entertainment Ogbomoso Community To Honour Eda, Foyanmu, 9ice, Okunnu

Ogbomoso Community To Honour Eda, Foyanmu, 9ice, Okunnu


Prominent Indigenes of Ogbomoso who have distinguished themselves in various fields of human endeavour would be honoured on Saturday, September 28.

Organised by the Ogbomoso Community Foundation (OCF), a social -cultural organisation founded in 2001 under the leadership of late IGP, Chief Sunday Adewusi, the event tagged, Night with Stars seeks to honour those indigenes who have positively impacted the Country, state and the Ogbomoso community.

Google search engine

A statement signed by General Oladayo Popoola (rtd) OFR, mni, leader of OCF and himself a prominent son of Ogbomoso said the honour was to appreciate the recipient and further encourage them to do more for the Community while also encouraging others to take a cue from this to also impact positively on the society.
“The idea is to honour some of these people in their life time.

“Someone like Chief Lere Paimo popularly known as Eda Onileola who turned 80 years old recently should be honoured for his great contribution to the entertainment industry in the country. It is better to honour people like him in their life time to show how they are appreciated”.

Among the awardees apart from Chief Lere Paimo are Late Chief Ogundare Foyanmu whose unique poetic chants popularised Ijala Ode, the Gongo Aso crooner, Akande Abolore (9ice)
Alhaji Ramoni Akanni, RKI, Kolawole Ajoyemi, Alhaji Wasiu Agara Benedict Ayoola, Prince Femi Oyewumi among other awarded.

Other awardees includes, Dr Samson Adegoke, (Maigida) whose impactful donation of a community maternity centre and E-library to the Ladoke Akintola University (LAUTECH), among other philanthropic gestures have been recognised far and wide and Mr Ayodeji Akande.

Also for recognition are entrepreneurs in Ogbomoso for their contributions to the economic development of the ancient city.
The event which is scheduled to commence at 4pm will hold at Viva Continental Event Centre, Iresaadu Road, Ogbomoso, according to the Statement.

A prominent Abuja-based indigene, Air Vice Marshall Jacob Bolaji Adigun(rtd) will be the chairman of the occasion while eminent and revered personalities drawn across Nigeria and beyond are expected to grace the occasion.

Below are the categories of the awards and the recipients:

Exemplary Award/Outstanding Recognition
Chief Lere Paimo (Eda Onileola)
Dr. Samson Adegoke (Maigida)
Late Chief Ogundare Foyanmu (Posthumous Award)
Special Award (Entertainment)
Mr. Abolore Akande(9ice)
Alhaji Wale Akorede (Okunnu)
Prince Femi Oyewumi
Alhaji Ramoni Akanni
Mr.Ayodeji Adegoke
Benedict Ayoola etc
Group Award: Pivotal Club,
Ogbomoso Valiants Club,
Ogbomoso First Community Initiative and
Ogbomoso Progressive Committee of Friends

Previous articleJubilations As Makinde Releases 2012-2013 Gratuity 
Next articleLAUTECH Workers May Go On Strike Over Osun’s Inability To Pay Salaries


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here