Home News JUST IN: Tribunal Sacks Oyo PDP Lawmaker, Declares APC Candidate Winner

JUST IN: Tribunal Sacks Oyo PDP Lawmaker, Declares APC Candidate Winner


The state assembly election petition tribunal has sacked the lawmaker representing Irepo/Olorunsogo state constituency, Kazeem Olayanju, in the Oyo State House of Assembly.

It declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in March 9, 2019 election, Mustapha Azeez Fowewe, winner.

Google search engine

OYOINSIGHT.COM learnt that the petitioner, Azeez in his petition EPT/OY/SHA/30/2019; Hon Azeez v Olayanju, (IREPO/OLORUNSOGO) had said he was the authentic winner of the said election.

In the judgment, which lasted for three and a half hours, the three-man panel of the tribunal, led by Justice Anthony Akpovi, unanimously agreed  that the declaration of the PDP candidate as winner of the election was wrong while upholding the petition of the APC candidate seeking for a declaration that he won the poll.

The Tribunal further averred  that the Independent National Electoral  Commission (INEC) erred in returning the PDP candidate as winner of the election.

The judgment, read by Akpovi, said that the petitioner succeeded to prove beyond reasonable doubt that the respondent did not win the election.

Akpovi said that the allegations by the petitioner had merit, especially with regard to the cancellation  of results in Ward 3, which it declared wrongful on the part of the electoral umpire.

The tribunal declared that cancellation of ward 3 election in Irepo local government area in the constituency was wrong.

The tribunal held inter alia that the election indeed took place at ward 3 in Irepo local government area contrary to the submission of the respondents.

The tribunal also held that the incident of burning of results at ward collation center did not mean that there were no election at the polling units in questions.

The  Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won 28 out of the 34 seats in the Oyo State House of Assembly while the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) won five seats.

The PDP won in Saki West, Ibadan West, Egbeda, Ibadan North, Ibadan North East, Ibadan South East, Ibadan South West, Ibarapa Central, Ibarapa North, Ibarapa East, Ido, Atisbo, Saki East, and Irepo/Olorunsogo.

Others are Iseyin/Itesiwaju, Kajola, Iwajowa, Lagelu, Ogbomoso North, Ogbomoso South, Oluyole, Ona-Ara and Oorelope, while APC won in Oriire, Afijio, Oyo East and Oyo West , Ogo-Oluwa/  Surulere.

Previous articleOYSCATECH ASUP Chair, Scribe, 3 Others Kidnapped Enroute Saki
Next articleJUST IN: Abducted OYSCATECH ASUP Leaders Released After ‘Paying’ N5m Ransom


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here