Home News JUST IN: Makinde, Adeseun, Alleluyah Boycott Ladoja’s Peace Meeting

JUST IN: Makinde, Adeseun, Alleluyah Boycott Ladoja’s Peace Meeting


The crisis rocking the Oyo State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, is far from over as a faction loyal to Engr. Seyi Makinde, a governorship aspirant, has boycotted the ongoing peace and reconciliatory meeting convened by the leader of the party, Sen. Rashidi Ladoja at his Ondo Street, Bodija, Ibadan residence.

The party has been enmeshed in leadership crisis since late 2017 after factions loyal to both Ladoja and Makinde held separate congresses.

Only few weeks ago, the party, relying on recommendations of its appeal panel, harmonised the executives in the state. 

Ladoja and others protested. Last week, the party leadership was in Ibadan, to find lasting solution to the crisis. Ladoja was prevailed upon to accept everybody as his subjects as he is the leader of the party in the South West. 

It was learnt that the national working committee, NWC, of the party had advised Ladoja to convene the meeting of all major stakeholders of the party.

This was after the former governor had been told to withdraw the case he instituted against NWC.

An impeccable source confided in OYO INSIGHT that the boycotting of the peace meeting by the faction loyal to Makinde cannot be unconnected with the refusal of Ladoja to hold the meeting outside his residence.

OYO INSIGHT gathered that Makinde’s faction which has Senators Ayo Adeseun, Hosea Agboola, Hon. Adeola Akande-Adeola, Barr Gbolarumi Hazeem and host of others as members, had given conditions for the attendance of the meeting.

“Ladoja, no doubt, is the indisputable leader of the party in the state. One of the conditions was that they were not going to attend any meeting in Ladoja’s Bodija residence. They wanted the party’s Molete secretariat or a neutral venue. Another one is that there should be a committee comprising representatives of major stakeholders who will design modalities for attendance of any meeting. These conditions were not met,” the source disclosed to OYO INSIGHT.

Currently at the peace meeting currently holding at Ondo Street, Bodija residence of Ladoja are PDP chairman in the state,  Alh Kunmi Mustapha, Sen Gbenga Babalola, Sen Kamardeen Adedubu, Sen Olufemi Lanlehin, Bar Sharafadeen Abiodun Alli, Bar Bayo Lawal, Chief Bisi Ilaka, former Oyo State PDP Chairman, Chief Michael Adegbite, Mama Mukeso Destiny, PDP National Ex-Officio, Yetunde Ajibola, Alh Dodo Oyedeji, Dr Nureni Aderemi Adeniran, Dr Akinwande, Hon Nureni Adisa, Arc Bash Lawal, Hon Bimbo Adepoju, Hon Yemi Aderibigbe, Chief Waheed Akanbi (WAF), Engr Abiola Olaniyan, Hon Aleshinloye, Hon Adeyinka Adeniyi, Hon Adesina Adeniyi, Hon Akeem Ademola Ige, Hon Ogundoyin Adebo, Hon Olaleye Radical, Alh Wasiu Ademol Alli, Hon Adeola, Alh Samad Busari, Mogaji Fagbemi, Alh Alh Rafiu Afuku, Chief Oyelade.

Leave a Reply