Home Crime Illegal Election: NUPENG Suspends Members

Illegal Election: NUPENG Suspends Members


Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG) has announced the suspension of some members of the union for conducting elections for the national offices of the Petroleum Tanker Drivers (PTD).

This was contained in a letter signed by Comrade Afolabi Olawale and made available to newsmen in Abuja.

The Union however passed vote of confidence in the Deputy President of NUPENG, General Secretary saying that the national officers are performing their duties satisfactorily.

The Union urged Nigerians to disregard any contrary information emanating from other sources other than the recognized structure of PTD headed by the National Chairman, Comrade Augustine Egbon.

The letter of their indefinite suspension reads in parts:


“The National Secretariat of the Union is in receipt of documentary, audio and video
evidences of you and some other individuals illegally organizing and conducting elections for the national offices of the Petroleum Tanker Drivers Branch of the Union in Abuja, in the early hours of Tuesday, 31st October, 2023in disobedience and in contempt of the judgement of Hon. Justice Bashar A. Alkali of the National industrial Court of Nigeria, in the Yenagoa Judicial Division, holden at Yenagoa on Suit No. NICN/YEN/L/2022 that nullified the Petroleum Tanker Drivers Branch of NUPENG’s election held on 30th June,
2022 in lbadan, Oyo State, dissolved the former executive and mandated the National Secretariat of NUPENG to conduct a fresh elections for the national offices of the Petroleum Tanker Drivers (PTD) Branch of the Union.

“Your actions, conducts and utterances were totalviolations of the Union Constitution and the Bye Laws of the Petroleum Tanker Drivers (PTD) Branch including the resolutions taken at the Branch Executive Council meeting of the Petroleum Tanker Drivers Branch
on 20th September 2023 in Asaba, Delta State.

“It was on the basis of the above that a resolution was taken and adopted at the Special Delegates Conference of the Branch on Tuesday, 31st of October,2O23 recommending your expulsion from the Branch and the Union to the National Executive Council of Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG).

“To worsen the matter, on Wednesday, 1’t November 2023, the President of the Union, Comrade Williams Akporeha and the General Secretary of the Union together with the Chairman of the Caretaker Committee set up after the dissolution of the former executive by court and six principal officers of the newly elected executive of the Branch were brutally and viciously attacked at the Petroleum Tanker Drivers (PTD) Branch office at 50
Moses Majekodunmi Crescent, Utako , Abuja by you and co- conspirators ably assisted by some assailants, thugs and arsonists.

“These actions are definitely condemnable and heinous crimes and cannot be condoned in any way by the Union and in any decent Society.

“ln the light of the above, you are hereby immediately placed on an indefinite suspension from the Petroleum Tanker Drivers (PTD) Branch of NUPENG and from the Union generally pending when the National Executive Council of the Union shall take appropriate actions and measures on the matter.

“You are hereby directed to hand over all the Union properties in your possession to the Petroleum Tanker Drivers (PTD) Chairman of your Zone and by a copy of this letter all relevant Security Agencies, Government institutions and all Stakeholders in the Oil and Gas industry should not transact business or have any official union relationships with this

“Thank you.
Yours faithfully,
General Secreta ry
President – NUPENG
Trustees _ NUPENG
State Commissioner of Police – Nigeria Police Force, P/H, Rivers State
State Director of DSS – Department of State Services (DSS), P/H, Rivers State
State Commandant – NSCDC, P/H, Rivers State
President and Executive Secretary – NARTO, Abuja
Chairman/Secretary – Port-Harcourt Zonal Council of NUPENG
Chairman/Secretary – PTD Branch of NUPENG
Cha irman/Secretary – PTD Port-Harcourt Zone of NUPENG.”

Those placed on indefinite suspension include, Peter Moudebelu, Dayabu Garga, Musa Dennis, Osesua, Walter.

Others are, Tiamiyu Ojo, Osahon Osamuyi, Humble Obinna, Dele Nwaka, Sylvanus Idanwekhai, Akinlolu Olabisi, Gambo Ibrahim Tuge.

Previous articleJUST IN: Veteran Broadcaster, Wale Rufai, Joins Fresh, Tiwantiwa FM Stations
Next articleReps Investigates Leakage Of Classified Information, Documents From Security Agencies


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here